Welcome to NoPennyRenewal.com!!   

 


NoPennyRenewal theme song.
(Note:  Photo courtesy of The Hayride).

 

 
Then-Candidate John Bel Edwards (D-Amite) flatly says "no" in response to a question of whether he would raise taxes on individuals or businesses if elected Governor of Louisiana.  Edwards made that promise to voters on 11/16/15, mere days before the runoff election between himself and then-U. S. Sen. David Vitter (R-Metairie).

 

 

OFFICIAL ENDORSEMENTS OF

 

NoPennyRenewal.com:

---------------------------------------------

Keith Baudin (R-St. Martinville)

 

(Seeking to defeat Louisiana House District 46 incumbent Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge).

 

---------------------------------------------

Bob Bell (R-Baton Rouge)

 

(Seeking to defeat dual term-limited opponents Louisiana House District 68 incumbent Steve Carter, R-Baton Rouge and
Louisiana House District 66 incumbent Franklin Foil).

 

---------------------------------------------

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Despite the above emphatic pledge to the voters of Louisiana, no sooner had Gov. Edwards been sworn into office in January of 2016 did he seek a full one-cent hike in Louisiana' state sales tax rate.  His action resulted in Louisiana having one of the highest sales taxes in the nation.  The Louisiana Legislature would only go along with the hike for 27 months, so the tax was all set to expire on June 30, 2018.  Instead, ONLY THE FOLLOWING LEGISLATORS CONSISTENTLY VOTED "NO" EVERY SINGLE TIME ENTAILING RENEWING ANY PORTION OF THE SALES TAX RENEWAL:    

 


Rep. Beryl Amedee, R-Houma, District 51, Phone:  (985) 858-2967    amedeeb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Raymond Crews, R-Bossier City, District 8, Phone:  (318) 716-7532  crewsr@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Rick Edmonds, R-Baton Rouge, District 66, Phone:  (225) 295-9240  edmondsr@legis.la.gov 
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Julie Emerson, R-Carencro, District 39, Phone:  (337) 886-4687    emersonj@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Reid Falconer, R-Mandeville, District 89, Phone:  (985) 792-5185    falconerr@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Raymond Garofalo, Jr., R-Chalmette, District 103, Phone:  (504) 277-4729    garofalor@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 


Rep. Cameron Henry, R-Metairie, District 82, Phone:  (504) 838-5433    henryc@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016; however, Henry is expected to run for Senate District 9 (previously held by Sen. Conrad Appel, who is term limited).

 

Sen. Sharon Hewitt, R-Slidell, District 1, Phone:  (985) 646-6490    hewitts@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

CLICK HERE for a great feature article in The Hayride on Sen. Hewitt’s Senate Floor speech on “the burden on the everyday taxpayer,” which is complete with a video of her speech.

 

 

Rep. Valarie Hodges, R-Denham Springs, District 64, Phone:  (225) 791-2199  hodgesv@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

Rep. Dotie Horton, R-Haughton, District 9, Phone:  (318) 949-2463  hortond@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Barry Ivey, R-Central, District 65, Phone:  (225) 261-5739  iveyb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

CLICK HERE for the feature referencing Rep. Ivey’s assistance on recognizing the problematic nature of the Louisiana Auctioneer Licensing Board.

 

Rep. Sherman Mack, R-Albany, District 95, Phone:  (985) 567-3677    macks@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

 

Rep. Blake Miguez, R-Erath, District 49, Phone:  (337) 937-8827    miguezb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

 

Sen. John Milkovich, D-Shreveport, District 38, Phone:  (318) 676-7877    milkovichj@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

CLICK HERE for the feature referencing Sen. Milkovich’s assistance on recognizing the problematic nature of the Louisiana Auctioneer Licensing Board.

 

 

 

Sen. Beth Mizell, R-Franklinton, District 12, Phone:  (985) 839-7714   mizellb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

 

Rep. Jay Morris, R-Monroe, District 14, Phone:  (318) 362-4270  morrisjc@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

Sen. Jonathan Perry (converts to Sen. Hensgens - see below), R-Kaplan (now R-Abbeville), District 26, Phone:  (337) 893-5035  sen26@legis.la.gov     
Final Term:  2032.  Note:  Sen. Perry won an election to the Third Circuit Court of Appeals, and his seat was won in a special election by Bob Hensgens (R-Abbeville); it should be noted to any challenger of Hensgens (pictured above) that, in sharp contrast to Perry, Hensgens cast "YES" votes on the sales tax on 5/25/18 (0.33 cent), 5/28/18 (0.33 cent), and 6/22/18 (0.45 cent, which ultimately became law).

 

Sen. Neil Riser, R-Columbia, District 32, Phone:  (318) 649-0977   risern@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016; however, Sen. Riser intends to seek election to the House of Representatives.

 

Rep. Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport, District 5, Phone:  (318) 676-7990  seabaugha@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

CLICK HERE for Rep. Seabaugh’s “fire and brimstone sermonette” entailing the 2017 attempted gas tax increase (second feature).

 

Rep. Kirk Talbot, R-River Ridge, District 78, Phone:  (504) 736-7299    talbotk@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016; however, Rep. Talbot plans to seek election to Senate District 10 being vacated by Sen. Dan Martiny, who is term-limited.

 

 

Rep. Mark Wright, R-Covington, District 77, Phone:  (985) 893-6262     wrightm@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

So, here's the bottom line:

 

When you go to the polls on October 12, 2019 and you see an incumbent running who is NOT pictured (exception:  Bob Hengsens as explained above, who voted "yes" on multiple occasions to raise sales taxes), you KNOW he or she voted on one or more occasions to raise your sales taxes!!

 

In so doing, those incumbents seeking re-election have assisted Gov. Edwards in breaking his campaign promise to the voters of Louisiana not to raise your taxes.  Therefore, they are no more worthy of being re-elected than he is!!

 

Any incumbent who is NOT pictured, is hell bent on continuing Louisiana's status quo of funding massive governmental bloat and has demonstrated ZERO will to rein in such bloat and therefore should be kicked right out of office, and we hope this website helps voters in re-electing ONLY THOSE LEGISLATURES WHO ARE PICTURED ABOVE!!